by drillmaster
#26751 When I finished the other story I wrote, AI Tenchi was just ending and I really didn't want the carnival to end. However, I didn't want to keep the other story going as I think it would have turned to garbage fast (as it stands, I really want to take a few days and edit things down a whole lot with that one, but I don't have the time nor the drive.) I also found it calming to just escape and write a bit.

Then this idea popped in my head.

I am a huge Grant Morrison DC fan, especially his run on Batman and Robin. I know it's not everybody's cup of tea, but I love it. His big story for the DC Universe, though, was Final Crisis. I was rereading it and wondered how would any other person in that universe react? Thus, that became my set up. I also wanted to use the Tenchi Universe version so I could write Kiyone, who I have never written before.

I don't know if anyone here has ever read Final Crisis or Morrison's work on Batman or JLA, but I highly recommend it. Still, I'd like to share what I've written!
----------------

Ch. 1: Need For Omega

It was a typical day in Okayama, Japan. The sun was shining, the grass was green. Nothing seemed out of the ordinary.

Except for the small fact that the sky was red.

Inside the Masaki residence in the heart of rural Okayama, a lone figure stirred in her laboratory. She had giant pink hair and looked only about twelve years old. Her name? Washu Hakubi. Her claim to fame?

"You are the greatest scientific genius in the galaxy Washu!" A small, visually similar doll of the woman yelled to nobody in particular; serving only as a means to inspire confidence and inflate her ego.

"You are the greatest scientific genius in the universe Washu!" A second doll yelled, also serving the same purpose.

Washu had been tirelessly working in her lab for what seemed to have been days. The phenomenon of red skies was not completely unknown to her. Everyone in the scientific community knew what they meant.