Clothing styles in Tenchi

Forums Tenchi Muyo! Discussion Anime Clothing styles in Tenchi

• This topic is empty.
  • Replies
      I think it depends on what the styles were in Japan in the late ’80s.I’m no fashion expert,but it’s probable that they were based on what was in style at the time.
      wwwwhhhhoooo
      none
      Excellent observations high gear, i thnk you’re onto something there. Films and the like are products of their time, and tenchi’s no exception (i have a similar theory regarding dbz lol). Sure, tenchi released in 92 but its conceptualization occurred long before any production (plus its not like once another decade starts on the calendar *snap fashion senses and tastes in music change, it’s gradual). Thus asserting ryoko’s wild locks are a hearkening to 80s sensibilities of beauty (which heck yes im a fan of! 80s joan jett? Eat ur heartout) isnt out of place at all. While the creative minds behind the garb of the more out of this world clothing in tm were very original, another source of inspiration–particularly for kajishima personally–can be found in oh my goddess.
      highgear56
      Something else I noticed was how virtually every female character in TM has an elastic belt (I think that’s the correct term; the belt/strap just below the breasts)

Tenchi definitely has some creative fashion designs

Anonymous
      https://web.archive.org/web/20110705220145im_/http://www.aicanime.com/about/images/kajishimaryoko.gif" />

I really wish Kajishima would have stuck with his old style, because it’s stuff like this, as well as the PAC Exclusive pic that are just fantastic

chucklocker
      Participant
      none
      I LOVE LOVE LOVE his designs from back in the day! The man had a great eye for taking the fashions of the day and giving them an “alien” look. Even to this day I think his clothing designs are very distinctive, but I wish he would do more than 15-layer kimonos or paint on swimsuits 😆
      chucklocker
      Participant