Question About Mecab

Forums Tenchi Muyo! Discussion Translation Zone Question About Mecab

• This topic is empty.
    Im new to translating, and Im installing mecab, but I dont know which to select (Shift-Jis, UTF-8, UTF-16, EUC-JP) can someone please tell me?
Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Replies
      jgzinv
      UTF-8
      Anonymous
      Thx
      ChaudSept
      Hello Jonat. Tenchismile

I use Mecab within the little soft Translator Aggregator, and I don’t remember if I configured it on his own when I installed it.

But

ScumSuckingPig wrote:

MeCab is a free program that separates words and gives their pronunciation and part of speech. I use it to get the information needed to parse words and display furigana. If you have MeCab installed but I report I’m having trouble initializing it, you can try copying libmecab.dll to the same directory as this program. Do not install MeCab using a UTF16 dictionary, as I have no idea how to talk to it (UTF16 strings don’t seem to work). Instead, configure MeCab to use UTF8, Shift-JIS, or EUC-JP. If you have both MeCab and edict/edict2 installed, you can view a word’s translation in MeCab by hovering the mouse over it. Also, JParser can use MeCab to help in parsing sentences.

And to back up the statement https://amaenboda.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/an-aero-gamers-guide-to-using-atlas/4/#Mecab

So everything but the 16 one.

Are your future translations Tenchi related ?

Anonymous
      Ya I”ve been a fan of the anime series for awhile. So when I found out there were light novel I wanted to read them. Problem was there all In Japenese, and I dont read japenese. Which is why I wanted to find a way to translate them. Then maybe share my translations online. They wont be perfect since Im new at this. But im sure I can at least make them readable.
      ChaudSept