Using Tenchi Muyo in the Classroom

Forums Fan Stuff Tenchi Projects Using Tenchi Muyo in the Classroom

• This topic is empty.
    So I’m an 8th Grade English Teacher and my class is about to read Tom Sawyer. If you have read Tom Sawyer, you know that he is an adventure craving boy who follows his own path and doesn’t let the rules dictate his life. I was trying to figure out a good way to introduce the novel and suddenly, it hit me.

“I’m a Pioneer.”

Seriously, the lyrics are a PERFECT character analysis for a character like Tom or Huck Finn. I printed out the lyrics and had the class do a close reading of the song and played this simple Youtube video I made for it which had the lyrics on the screen:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hoEZ4ecHq2M

It worked great. The kids responded well to it and created a thoughtful response to the idea of BEING a “pioneer.” Now when we read the story, they are bringing back the text to the song and are calling the characters “pioneers.”

Just a short Tenchi related story to share.

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Replies
      wwwwhhhhoooo
      none

drillmaster wrote:

So I’m an 8th Grade English Teacher and my class is about to read Tom Sawyer. If you have read Tom Sawyer, you know that he is an adventure craving boy who follows his own path and doesn’t let the rules dictate his life. I was trying to figure out a good way to introduce the novel and suddenly, it hit me.

“I’m a Pioneer.”

Seriously, the lyrics are a PERFECT character analysis for a character like Tom or Huck Finn. I printed out the lyrics and had the class do a close reading of the song and played this simple Youtube video I made for it which had the lyrics on the screen:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hoEZ4ecHq2M

It worked great. The kids responded well to it and created a thoughtful response to the idea of BEING a “pioneer.” Now when we read the story, they are bringing back the text to the song and are calling the characters “pioneers.”